RA DEC observing for dummies?

Any topics discussing the telescope.org website
mikaselm

RA DEC observing for dummies?

Postby mikaselm » Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:12 am

Hello, Everyone,

I'm hoping someone can give me a little more information about RA Dec coordinates and why they may or may not work for observing with the BRT. I'm a total noob when it comes to using coordinates to find things, I've only ever observed named or cataloged objects. I recently stumbled across some images of the cartwheel galaxy, or the funky red spiral star near it, however, and wanted to see if I could observe this for myself. Now one of the things that I just LOVE is the new request creator that shows me when optimal viewing is for a particular object (this request is gonna sit for six months, ya know...). Makes it nice and easy, and Wikipedia is good about giving me Ra Dec coordinates for non named objects. I've noticed that sometimes when I put in the coordinates, I get the little green months telling me that it's a good time to observe, however, when I put my coordinates for the cartwheel galaxy in, (Right ascension 00h 37m 41.1s Declination −33° 42′ 59″) the whole year is red, bad observing.

I'm sure there's a reason for this, but I'm not familiar enough with coordinates to know what it is. Is it that this object never rises high enough, or that it's too dim for this scope, or something like that, perhaps?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Mika

Ed
Site Admin

Re: RA DEC observing for dummies?

Postby Ed » Fri Jul 10, 2015 1:12 am

So it sounds like first you could do with a basic intro to how the radec coordinate system works.